Education in Wales is changing.

[newsticker id=5]

Parental Workshop – Curriculum for Wales summary for Saundersfoot CP School. 

Parental workshops 2022/23

We plan to hold a number of workshops during each term and over the year, helping provide information and support for you as parents/carers. So that we can work together to support children so that they are ready to learn throughout their lives, ready to play a full part in life and work, are ready to be citizens of Wales and the World and ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society.

The school has presented at two different National forums over the year and we would like to share with you this work and some additional workshop. 

Follow the link below for our first work shop on the Curriculum for Wales summary here in school. 

Go to this Sway

Developing a curriculum for Saundersfoot and Wales. 

A new curriculum for Wales will be developed with education professionals across Wales with the aim of it being available to settings and schools.

Schools will have some flexibility in determining how and when they begin first teaching of the new curriculum. Our ambition is that by 2021 settings and schools will be using the new curriculum to underpin teaching and learning for children and young people aged 3-16. A New Deal for the Education Workforce will equip education professionals to deliver the new curriculum. 

4 purposes

The 4 purposes will be at the heart of our new curriculum. They will be the starting point for all decisions on the content and experiences developed as part of the curriculum to support our children and young people to be:

  • ambitious, capable learners ready to learn throughout their lives
  • enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work
  • ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world
  • healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society. 

Key elements

The new curriculum will include:

  • 6 Areas of Learning and Experience from 3 to 16
  • 3 cross curriculum responsibilities: literacy, numeracy and digital competence
  • progression reference points at ages 5, 8, 11, 14 and 16
  • achievement outcomes which describe expected achievements at each progression reference point.

The curriculum will be organised into 6 Areas of Learning and Experience:

  • Expressive arts
  • Health and well-being
  • Humanities (including RE which should remain compulsory to age 16)
  • Languages, literacy and communication (including Welsh, which should remain compulsory to age 16, and modern foreign languages)
  • Mathematics and numeracy
  • Science and technology (including computer science)

New Curriculum Documents